And…I’ve just had my first wedding meltdown

28 Jan

**Wedding redux**

Well, that didn’t take long. Here we thought that having a long engagement would allow us some leisure time to sort things out before moving forward with concrete plans. I guess we’re wedding novices. Did you know some venues book up almost two years in advance?! What the what?!? So, as fate would have it, I started to freak out about our nonexistent plans and dove head-first into venue quotes and location research. Wouldn’t you know, I bit off more than I could chew and I spent a good chunk of the morning in tears…

(photos of the world’s most gorgeous wedding and one sassy video after the jump)

This is exactly how I looked and felt this morning

This is exactly how I looked and felt this morning

For a while now, we’ve known that we would inevitably be dealing with a very limited budget (unless one of us happens to win the lottery soon). I made my peace with that a long time ago after I realized I couldn’t have a mariachi, and a band at the reception, and a DJ. A meticulously honed iTunes playlist would just have to do. However, when Nick started talking about backyard receptions and taco carts and barbecues, I experienced my very first wedding-related meltdown.

All of a sudden, my emotional stability went out the window and my mind was racing with images of styrofoam cups and paper bibs and barbecue sauce stains on a dress I found at the thrift store. Nick couldn’t quite get a grasp on why I was becoming mentally unhinged, but he tried his best to sort it out. He found me an article about a couple who got married on a $2,000 budget and how the bride said she was ultimately happy with her wedding. That’s nice. But she served deli slices for her reception. And then I started crying again.

(Actually, this exact scene from Father of the Bride started playing in my head)

Now, I don’t consider myself to be a materialistic person. I don’t need a lot—or any, really—excess in my life. But is it too much to ask to not have to serve deli slices? As Nicholas tried to talk me off the ledge, he kept reiterating how a wedding should ultimately be about the bride and groom and their love. Suddenly, I felt like a Real Housewife of Orange County, and my sadness spiraled down a little more.

The thing is, I agree with him. Weddings should be about the bride and the groom, their love, and their desire to share their happiness with the people closest to them. When did it become a requirement to have an open bar and a photo booth and light arrangements and favors?! I’m guessing in the ’90s. Regardless, that’s the state of the wedding world we live in today, and if you somehow fail to have any of that, your wedding may be dismissed as tacky and cheap by your friends, boring by your family, and an utter failure by your own high standards.

When Nick explained to me how he decided to propose to me at the Getty, he said it’s because he knew he didn’t want to propose to me in Riverside (thank goodness!). He said he wanted the setting to mean something to us; to be something that we could both look back on with fond memories. Not some tacky mess that’s blistering hot in the summer, freezing in the winter, and surrounded by a ridiculously rowdy neighbor who likes to drop F-bombs on her kids when she hears them dropping F-bombs as well. I called upon this anecdote as I tried to explain why the mention of barbecue reduced me to tears.

To me, Nicholas is my absolute favorite person in the history of forever. He’s my very best friend, and I have been unbelievably happy with him these past five years that, if it were socially acceptable, I would tattoo our faces kissing on my forehead so that the whole world may know how in love I am. And I just want our wedding to be representative of that. Then, somewhere in the middle of all that, I remembered some wedding photos I had seen a while back. When I first saw them, I was floored by how beautiful and how simple everything was. The bride said that only about 80 people came. The ceremony was held in the tiniest of tiny churches. Their reception was held in the restaurant of the hotel their guests were staying at. It is, hands down, everything I could possibly want for my own wedding, right down to the cloudy skies.

Suddenly, I had a moment of clarity. (scroll down for some photos of the most beautiful wedding I have ever seen)

annikadoug-smp149$!600x annikadoug-smp154$!600x annikadoug-smp85$!600x annikadoug-smp75$!600x

Nothing really has changed. We are still waiting to see how these next couple of months pan out before we decide to move forward with anything definite. But I think a seed has been planted.

Click here to see more of this gorgeous Icelandic wedding by Nordica Photography.

One Response to “And…I’ve just had my first wedding meltdown”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. There and Back Again | Massiel Con Leche - April 5, 2013

    [...] my brief love affair with destination weddings? It lasted only about a day, but in that short period of time, I fell in love and I fell hard. I [...]

Leave a Reply

